Finally California begins to pass some sensible Ebike legislation. Electric-Fatbike.com published a great article about AB 1096.
The key piece of the legislation is a legal definition of the different types of ebikes and where they are permitted to operate.
AB 1096 Updates Regulations for Healthy and Environmentally-Friendly Transportation Option
Gov. Jerry Brown signed a bill into law in California today that outlines 3 types of ebikes and their appropriate usage.
Type 1 ebike: is for Pedal Operated (often know as PAS) bikes which are allowed on all bike trails and bike paths without restrictions. Speed must be under 20mph. Minors must wear helmets.
Type 2 ebike: is a Throttled Ebike which are allowed on everything Type 1 bikes are allowed on without restrictions. Speed must be under 20mph. Minors must wear helmets.
Type 3 ebike: is a Speed Pedalec which are not allowed on Class 1 bike paths but are allowed everywhere else. Speed must be under 28mph and you need a helmet to ride this ride regardless of your age.